United Nations International Day of Persons With A Disability – Keynote

Today I had the honour of being the Keynote speaker at the United Nations International Day of Persons with a Disability (IDPD) event in Calgary, AB in the City Hall Atrium.

I was able to share the following, by infusing some of my Canada C3 experiences into my speech:

  1. That persons with disabilities should be involved in the decision-making process;
  2. Education plays an important role in understanding and learning; and
  3. Genuine connections play a role in the development of the community.

The following video is of my speech on this day.

It was the first time that I had an interpreter beside me while I spoke and there was also a speech to text system set up as well. These alternative ways to communicate allow for people to engage with the speakers in different ways.

I was able to meet with people. Some lived with disabilities, some had roles within politics, some created organizations, while others worked within organizations, supporting those with various disabilities. I witnessed the essence of community at the IDPD event in Calgary. A community of individuals with different disabilities and abilities as well as those that are present to support. The supports ranged from accessible housing, accessible university, specific disability organizations, and organizations set up to support those throughout the lifespan.

Leave a comment